He has won more Manitoba Men’s curling championships than anyone – by a mile. Jeff Stoughton, who captured his first in 1991 at the Keystone Centre in Brandon, will be looking for his ninth purple heart this Sunday at the Sun-Gro Centre in Beausejour. Of course there are a few games to be played between then and now. The two-time Brier winner and 1996 World champion has captured three provincials in Brandon; two in Steinbach and one each in Portage, Selkirk and Dauphin. It was big news when Stoughton passed the great Bryan Wood who won five while playing lead for Don Duguid, Rod Hunter, Barry Fry and Doug Harrison. Stoughton won his sixth in 2007 and has added two more since. How many more will Jeff Stoughton win?

Jeff Stoughton and third Jon Mead

CJRB Sports Director Clayton Dreger asked Jeff Stoughton to talk about his first provincial men’s championship victory back in 1991 at the Keystone Centre in Brandon.


If Jeff Stoughton, third Jon Mead, second Reid Carruthers and lead Steve Gould win the 2011 Safeway Championship this Sunday at the Sun-Gro Centre it would be a record tieing third straight for the skipper and his lead. They would join Doug Armstrong who was the first to win three straight provincial men’s titles. Armstrong captured his first in 1998 playing lead for Dale Duguid and then won again in 1999 & 2000 with Stoughton.

second Reid Carruthers and lead Steve Gould

2011 Safeway Championship @ Beausejour
Draw #1  8:30 a.m.
Jeff Stoughton, Charleswood 8 Perry Fisher, Wawanesa 3
Randy Neufeld, La Salle 9 Brent Scales, Swan River 3
Dave Elias, West Kildonan 11 Barrie Sigurdson, Gimli 7
Ryan Hyde, Portage 5 David Hamblin, Morris 4
William Lyburn, Deer Lodge 6 Rob Atkins, East St. Paul 3

Draw #2  12:15 p.m.
Rob Fowler, Brandon 10 Roger Parker, Dauphin 5
Dave Boehmer, Petersfield 5 Andy Stewart, Rosser 4
Brent Strachan, Hamiota 9 David Bohn, Assiniboine Memorial 7 (EE)

Bob Sigurdson, Granite 8 Rob Ramage, Baldur 3
Peter Nicholls, Pembina 8 Troy Hamilton, Fort Rouge 7

Draw # 3  4 p.m.
Mike McEwen, Assiniboine Memorial 11 Don Holmes, Flin Flon 2
Vic Peters, Fort Garry 10 Greg Todoruk, Dauphin 3
Randy Dutiaume, Thistle 9 Graham Freeman, Virden 7
Garth Smith, Assiniboine Memorial 7 Scott Madams, Beausejour 6
Travis Graham, Thompson 6 Terry McNamee, Brandon 3

Draw # 4  8:15 p.m.
Sean Grassie, Deer Lodge 10 Dean North, Carman 1

"B" side

Brent Scales, Swan River 8 Perry Fisher, Wawanesa 3

Rob Atkins, East St. Paul 9 Barrie Sigurdson, Gimli 4

David Hamblin, Morris 8 David Bohn, Assiniboine Memorial 7

Andy Stewart, Rosser 7 Roger Parker, Dauphin 4