The Boissevain/Wawanesa Broncos have qualified for the quarterfinals at the Provincial High School Baseball Championship in Brandon. The Broncos won both round robin games Thursday defeating McCreary/Ste. Rose 4-2 and the host Vincent Massey Vikings 15-9.

The Zone 9 champion Boissevain Broncos meet the Carman/Miami Cougars and Beliveau Barracudas on day one of the Provincial High School Fastpitch Championship in Brandon. The eight second and third place teams meet this afternoon to determine who joins the top team in each of the four pools in the quarterfinals.

Max Murphy homered twice as the Winnipeg Goldeyes downed Cleburne 7-4 and completed a three-game sweep of the Railroaders. The Fish open a three-game weekend series against the Lincoln Saltdogs tonight at Shaw Park.

Evan Nachtigall of Wheat City, Ryden Hargreaves of Shilo and Keaton Jameson of Brandon are into the round of 16 at the Manitoba Men's Match Play Championship at Quarry Oaks near Steinbach. Nachtigall beat Matt Glowa of Rossmere 5 & 4; Hargreaves edged Aiden Kleer of Winnipeg 2 & 1 and Jameson beat Carson Inman of Portage 2 & 1. Nachtigall will meet Jameson and Hargreaves will take on Trey Ross of Rossmere in the round of 16. Scott Miner of Wheat City lost 2 & 1 to Ryan Blair of Elmhurst; Hayden Delaloye of Neepawa fell 6 & 5 to Mark Di Ubaldo of Breezy Bend and Brad Pardy of Shilo lost 3 & 1 toJamie Roy of Quarry Oaks. Cala Korman of Killarney will face Veronica van der Meer of Winnipeg today in the round of 16 in the Women's Division. 

The University of Manitoba Bisons men's golf team is in 16th place after day two of the 2022 Canadian University/College Championships in Bromont, Quebec. The Bisons are 48 shots back of the first place University of British Columbia Thunderbirds. Stefan Lavallee was three over par 75 yesterday and is in a tie for 23rd place at plus three. Connor Stewart was 73 and is plus nine; Cole Peters was 73 and is plus 14; Brent Ingram was 82 and is plus 15 and Lachlan Allerton was 87 and is plus 27.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers cut 11 players from their training camp roster. Released were American linebacker Darian Taylor, American receivers BJ Mucklevene and Whop Philyor, American running back Shane Simpson, American offensive lineman Leon Johnson, American defensive end Jordan Berner, American defensive backs Corey Straughter, Josh Miller, Zach Hannibal and Javon Jackson along with National offensive lineman Brandon Sanford.