The Virden Oil Capitals meet the Neepawa Titans tonight (7:30 p.m.) at Tundra Oil & Gas Place in game one of their best-of-seven MJHL West Division semifinal. Virden (40-12-3-3) finished first in the West while Neepawa (28-29-1) was fourth in the division. The Oil Capitals and Titans met six times during the regular season schedule. Each team had three wins and three losses. 

The Brandon Wheat Kings won their final home game of the 2023-24 Western Hockey League season. Brandon rallied from a 3-1 first period deficit and beat the Moose Jaw Warriors 5-3 at Westoba Place. Jayden Wiens with his 25th of the season, Rylen Roermsa with his 20th, Rhett Ravndahl, Luke Shipley and Brett Hyland with his team leading 32nd did the goal scoring for the Wheat Kings. Brandon netminder Connor Bjarnason made 20 saves. The Wheat Kings play their regular season finale tonight against the Pats in Regina. 

After recording back-to-back wins to start their five-game road trip, the Winnipeg Jets suffered their first loss Thursday night in Newark. Jack Hughes scored a pair of power play goals as New Jersey downed Winipeg 4-1. Nikolaj Ehlers had the lone goal for the Jets (44-20-5), who had won three in a row. Winnipeg's Laurent Brossoit made 37 saves. The Jets will wrap up their road trip with afternoon games against the N.Y. Islanders on Saturday and the Washington Capitals on Sunday.

Colton Lott & Kadriana Lott will meet Jocelyn Peterman & Brett Gallant in the semifinals at the 2024 Canadian Mixed Doubles Curling Championship in Fredericton, New Brunswick. The three-time Manitoba champions defeated Nancy Martin and Steve Laycock 11-3 in the quarterfinals on Thursday. 

Rachel Homan is 10-0 heading into the final day of round robin play at the World Women’s Curling Championship in Sydney, Nova Scotia. Homan, vice-skip Tracy Fleury, second Emma Miskew and lead Sarah Wilkes defeated Liisa Turmann of Estonia 9-4 and Jessica Smith of New Zealand 9-2. Team Canada closes its round robin schedule today against Rebecca Morrison of Scotland and Eunji Gim of South Korea after a morning bye. Homan, Stefania Constantini of Italy (9-1), Silvana Tirinzoni of Switzerland (8-2), Gim (8-2), Anna Hasselborg of Sweden (7-4) and Madeleine Dupont of Switzerland (6-4) are the six teams who have qualified for the playoffs.The third- through sixth-ranked teams after the round robin wraps up Friday evening compete in playoff qualification games (3 vs 6; 4 vs 5) with the winners advancing to the semifinals. The semifinal winners play in the gold medal game and the losers play for bronze. 

Reegan Aitken of College Jeanne-Sauvé, Everett Smith of Vincent Massey Collegiate in Winnipeg, Sienna Driedger of the Steinbach Regional Secondary School and Max Vermette of Gabrielle-Roy are the 2023-24 recipients of the Dr. Dale Iwanoczko Memorial Volleyball Scholarships. Each scholarship is worth $1,000 and to be eligible a student must be proceeding to a post-secondary institution and have a minimum 75% academic average. The individual must have proficiency in volleyball, while academic standing, and involvement in their school and community are also considered.