The Brandon Wheat Kings season came to an end Sunday night at Westoba Place. Jayden Grubbe scored at 7:41 of triple overtime to lift Red Deer past Brandon 5-4. Ben King had a hat trick for the Rebels who took the Western Hockey League's best-of-seven opening round series four games to two. Ridly Greig had a pair of goals for the Wheat Kings while the rest went to Rylen Roersma and Marcus Kallionkieli. Brandon netminder Ethan Kruger stopped 50 shots. The Winnipeg Ice, who eliminated the Prince Albert Raiders in five games in round one, will face the Moose Jaw Warriors in the Eastern Conference semifinal. Game one is Friday in Winnipeg.

The Notre Dame Hounds have qualified for the 2022 Telus Cup later this month in Okotoks. Andrew Altwasser scored with 18 seconds left in the third period to lift the Saskatchewan U18 AAA Hockey League champions past the host Southwest Cougars 4-3 in the West Regional final at Tundra Oil & Gas Place in Virden. Brett Laing, Dawson Andries and Luke Mackenzie replied for the Cougars who trailed 3-0 until Laing scored with six seconds left in the second period. Southwest netminder Owen LaRocque stopped 52 of the 56 shots he faced.

The Winnipeg Jets won their season finale Sunday at Canada Life Centre. Blake Wheeler, Dominic Toninato and Kyle Connor scored third period goals as Winnipeg rallied for a 4-3 victory over the Seattle Kraken. Connor potted the go-ahead goal, his 47th of the season, at 9:05 of the final frame. Morgan Barron opened the scoring for the Jets as beat Kraken goaltender Chris Driedger 3:47 into the first period. Alex Wennberg, Daniel Sprong and Riley Sheahan scored second period goals for Seattle. Winnipeg's Eric Comrie finished the afternoon with 27 saves. The Jets (39-32-11) won their final four games and went 26-22-6 after interim head coach Dave Lowry replaced Paul Maurice, who resigned December 17th.

Marie Wright of Moose Jaw & Jamie Answeeuw of Winnipeg defeated Pamela Wilson & David Samsa of the United States 10-4 at the World Wheelchair Mixed Doubles Curling Championship in Lohja, Finland. Wright & Answeeuw, who have a 2-2 round robin record, lost 7--6 to Monika Kunkelova & Radoslav Duris of Slovakia on Sunday.

Manitoba champions Jordon McDonald and Zoey Terrick as well as provincial finalists Ryan Ostrowsky and Grace Beaudry play their round robin openers today at the Canadian U18 Curling Championships in Oakville, Ontario.