Shawn Bowles had a goal and two assists in the Miniota/Elkhorn C-Hawks 3-2 victory over the Blues Sunday night in Hartney. Zeanen Ziemer and Dillon Stonehouse also scored for the defending Tiger Hills Hockey League champion C-Hawks. Mark Agnew and Del Cowan replied for the Blues. 

In the Westman High School Hockey League - Griffin Anderson scored the go-ahead goal with 76 seconds left in the third period to lift Glenboro/Carberry/Baldur past Crocus Plains 4-3. Josh Edwards had a goal and two assists in the Major Pratt Trojans 3-2 victory over Reston/Elkhorn/Melita/Pierson. Josh Romanik, Carter Dittmer and Josh Ransom scored two goals each as Vincent Massey downed Minnedosa/Erickson 8-2 and Jack Oakden scored the winner with 1:24 left in regulation as Hamiota/Rivers/Elton/Strathclair shaded Killarney/Wawanesa 3-2.

The Westman Wildcats gave up four second period goals and lost 6-1 to the defending Manitoba Female U18 AAA Hockey League champion Winnipeg Ice at Hockey for all Centre. 

Canada's medal tally at the Pan Am Games is nearing the 100 mark. The Canadian eventing team won gold in Santiago, Chile. The result ensures Canada will send a full team to compete in what's known as the triathlon of equestrian at the Paris Olympics next year. Canadian athletes have won 98 medals including 33 gold, 30 silver and 35 bronze.

Kara Balshaw of the Thistle Curling Club and Derrick Anderson of Gimli won the Manitoba Curling Club Championships Sunday at the Fort Rouge Curling Club in Winnipeg. Balshaw along with Heather Carson, Sandra Carson, Cathy Gingera, and alternate Kim Merasty defeated Jennifer Clark-Rouire of Fort Garry 7-5 in an extra end in the women's final. Anderson downed David Bohn of Assiniboine Memorial 10-6 in the men's final. Team Balshaw and Team Anderson will represent Manitoba at the National Club Championships in late November at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg. 

Kerri Einarson has a 1-1 record and Brad Gushue is 0-1 after day one of the 2023 Pan Continental Curling Championships in Kelowna. Einarson defeated Cynthia Lu of Chinese Taipei 9-2 and then lost 10-7 to Japan’s Satsuki Fujisawa. Gushue dropped an 8-5 decision to South Korea’s JongDuk Park in the opening men’s draw. The top five teams in the men’s and women’s competitions will earn berths into their respective world championships.