The Virden Oil Capitals are still looking for their first win of the 2023-24 Manitoba Junior Hockey League season. The Caps dropped a 5-4 decision to the Portage Terriers Sunday night at Stride Place. Josh Lehto had a pair of goals for Virden while singles went to Naton Miller and Bryce Bryant. Brenden Holba scored the go-ahead goal for the Terriers 8:56 into the third period. Owen LaRocque made 17 saves in net for the Oil Capitals who outshot Portage 56-22. Virden is 0-2 and will face the Neepawa Titans Tuesday at the Yellowhead Centre. 

The Winnipeg Jets won their pre-season opener Sunday night at Rogers Place. Cole Perfetti scored the only goal of the shootout as Winnipeg shaded Edmonton 2-1. Dominic Toninato scored the Jets lone goal in regulation. Winnipeg goaltender Collin Delia went the distance and stopped 37 shots as well as all three shootout attempts by the Oilers. The two teams wrap up their home-and-home tonight at Canada Life Centre. 

The Major Pratt Trojans defeated the host Sabres 18-25, 25-11, 15-11 in the final of the Elton varsity girls high school volleyball tournament. The Carberry Cougars beat Elton 26-24, 23-25, 15-12 in the final of the MacGregor junior varsity boys volleyball tournament. 

Two governors were re-elected, and one new governor was elected, to the Curling Canada Board of Governors, it was confirmed Saturday during the organization’s Annual General Meeting. The governing body for the sport of curling in Canada conducted its virtual AGM on Saturday, bringing together Canada’s 14 Member Associations along with invited guests to talk about the past season, as well as elect new members to the Board of Governors. There were three available spots after Roselle Gonsalves of Edmonton and Scott Hindle of Ottawa completed their terms, and Amy Nixon of Calgary departed the Board in July after voluntarily returning to the Board earlier in the season to help with on-boarding four new Governors. Both Gonsalves and Hindle ran for re-election and won four-year terms. Also, newcomer Jeremy Woo of Winnipeg was elected to a two-year term. Those three join fellow Governors Ray Baker of Dauphin, Man., Jennifer Howard of Courtice, Ont., Kathy O’Rourke of Cumberland, P.E.I., Darren Oryniak of Winnipeg, Teri Palynchuk of Nanaimo, B.C., Calvin Seaman of Calgary, and Michael Szajewski of Kenora, Ont. Szajewski was re-elected as Chair of the Board of Governors.