The Wawanesa Jets, MacGregor Wild, Rivers Jets, Virden Oil Kings and Killarney Shamrocks were winners in the Tiger Hills Hockey League Friday night. Brock Sutherland and Taylor Opperman each had a goal and an assist as the Jets edged the Deloraine Royals 4-3; Robert Smith and Maverick Rafter each had a goal and two helpers as the Wild downed the Cartwright Clippers 5-1; Jaxon Heeney scored his second goal of the game with 36 seconds left to lift the Oil Kings past Miniota/Elkhorn 8-7. That’s the C-Hawks first loss after starting the season with 13 wins. Ty Lewis had three goals and an assist as the Oil Kings beat the Souris Elks 5-3. The Shamrocks downed the Plainsmen 9-3 in Carberry.

In the Westman High School Hockey League – Josh Archambault scored four times as the Killarney/Wawanesa Raiders downed Major Pratt 13-1; Sawyer Wiebe stopped 23 shots as the Glenboro/Carberry/Baldur Wildcats blanked Reston/Elkhorn/Melita/Pierson 2-0; Ethan Hunter scored his second goal of the game with 72 seconds left to lift the Birtle/Shoal Lake/Rossburn Falcons past Vincent Massey 3-2. Chey Nykoliation recorded the shutout as the Virden Golden Bears beat Deloraine/Hartney 7-0. Brayson Richard scored the shootout winner to lift the Sandy Bay Badgers past Minnedosa/Erickson 3-2 and Connor Ramsey had a goal and three assists as the Hamiota/Rivers/Elton/Strathclair Huskies downed Crocus Plains 7-1.

Owen LaRocque made 35 saves and Colten Miller, Nolan Chastko and Josh Lehto scored power play goals as the Virden Oil Capitals beat the Niverville Nighthawks 3-1 at Tundra Oil & Gas Place.

The Brandon Wheat Kings opened their three-game Alberta road trip with a 4-2 victory over the Calgary Hitmen. Quinn Mantei scored the go-ahead goal with 2:50 remaining in the third period. Nolan Flamand added an empty netter with 13 seconds left. Brandon netminder Carson Bjarnason stopped 34 shots.

Grace Beaudry of St. Vital and Jordon McDonald of Deer Lodge have qualified for the finals at the 2023 Provincial Junior Curling Championships in Portage. Beaudry beat Zoey Terrick of the Heather 8-6 and McDonald downed Jace Freeman of Virden 9-1 in the 1-2 Page Playoff games. Terrick will meet Cheyenne Ehnes of Pembina and Freeman will take on Ronan Peterson of the Heather in the semifinals. Ehnes stole single points in the 9th, 10th and extra end and defeated Tansy Tober of Fort Garry 10-9 while Peterson beat Colton Olafson of Portage 9-1 in the 3-4 games.