The Virden Oil Capitals opened the Manitoba Junior Hockey League playoffs with a win. Ethan Guthrie scored twice and Roux Bazin, Trevor Hunt and Nolan Chastko potted power play goals in Virden's 6-1 victory over the Neepawa Titans at Tundra Oil & Gas Place. Naton Miller also scored for the Caps. Carter McLeod had the lone goal for the Titans. Game two goes Sunday at the Yellowhead Centre.

The Brandon Wheat Kings downed the Winnipeg Wild 5-2 in game one of the Manitoba U18 AAA Hockey League’s best of five final. Kaeson Fisher, Brady Turko, Nash Henwood, Colten Worthington and Cole Dupuis did the goal scoring for the Wheat Kings. Seth Clements and Carter Kingerski replied for the Wild.

Nicholas Johnson scored the tying goal at 12:22 of the third period period and Joby Baumuller potted the go-ahead goal with 5:08 remaining as the Brandon Wheat Kings own their regular season finale 3-2 over the Pats in Regina. Nolan Flamand with his 20th of the season also scored for the Wheat Kings who finished in sixth place in the Western Hockey League’s Eastern Conference standings and will face the Moose Jaw Warriors in the opening round of the playoffs.

Colton Lott & Kadriana Lott won gold Friday at the 2024 Canadian Mixed Doubles Curling Championship in Fredericton, New Brunswick. The three-time Manitoba champions defeated Laura Walker & Kirk Muyres 7-5 in the final and will represent Canada at the World Championship in Ostersund, Sweden next month.

Rachel Homan finished the round robin in first place at the World Women’s Curling Championship in Sydney, Nova Scotia. Homan, vice-skip Tracy Fleury, second Emma Miskew and lead Sarah Wilkes had an 11-1 record and earned a bye to the semifinals. Silvana Tirinzoni of Switzerland (10-2) was second and also have a bye to the semis. Stefania Constantini of Italy (10-2) will meet Madeleine Dupont of Denmark (6-6) and Eunji Gim of South Korea (10-2) will face Anna Hasselborg of Sweden (7-5) in the playoff qualification games.

It's day three of the Provincial Senior Men's and Provincial Senior Women's Championships at the Heather Curling Club in Winnipeg. Murray Warren, Greg McGibbon, Dean Dunstone and defending champion Dave Boehmer all have 4-0 records in the senior men's provincials while Kathy Isaac and Kim Link are 3-0 in the senior women's provincials.