Boissevain’s Danika Nell officially signed with Boston University. The grade 12 student/athlete with the Vincent Massey Trojans in Winnipeg will play division one softball and begin her post-secondary education with the Terriers this fall.

The MacGregor Wild, Hartney Blues and Gladstone Lakers were winners in the Tiger Hills Hockey League Friday night. Drake Sheppard scored the go-ahead goal with 2:05 left as the Wild edged the Boissevain Border Kings 4-3. Tyler Bertholet potted the shootout winner as the Blues shaded the Virden Oil Kings 4-3 and John Beaulieu had two goals and an assist as the Lakers beat the Carberry Plainsmen 8-1.

In the Westman High School Hockey League - Clayton Judd scored the go-ahead goal with 11 seconds left in regulation as Birtle/Shoal Lake/Rossburn rallied from a 4-2 deficit and beat the Boissevain/Souris/Deloraine/Waskada Broncos 6-5; Jaden Trotz and Ozy Atkinson each had a goal and an assist in the Minnedosa/Erickson Chancellors 5-3 victory over the Major Pratt Trojans; Riley Davie and Ian Foster scored two goals each as the Neepawa Tigers downed the Glenboro/Carberry/Baldur Wildcats 9-1 and Owen Chubka made 35 saves in the Dauphin Clippers 4-0 win over the defending champion Swan Valley Tigers.

Sebastian Stone scored his second goal of the game 4:17 into overtime to lift the Southwest Cougars past the Brandon Wheat Kings 3-2. Nate Robson also scored for Cougars who received a 45-save performance from Mickey Gross. Owen Wallace and Brady Turko scored for the Wheat Kings who suffered their first loss after opening the season with 12 straight wins.

Sara Manness of La Salle and Breanne Comte of Winnipeg did the goal scoring as Team Manitoba defeated Team Atlantic 2-1 in the seventh place game at the 2023 National Women’s U18 Hockey Championship in Dawson Creek.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers face the B.C. Lions today at IG Field in the CFL’s West Division final. The opening kickoff is at 5:30 p.m. Receiver Dalton Schoen will not play. He suffered an ankle injury in the Bombers week 18 victory over the Lions. Receivers Nic Demski, Rasheed Bailey and Greg McCrae are listed as game time decisions. The Toronto Argonauts host the Montreal Alouettes at 2 p.m. in the East Division final. The winners will meet in the 110th Grey Cup in Hamilton on November 19th.

Manitoba’s Kyle Kurz, Beth Peterson, Ian McMillan and Melissa Gordon will meet Scott McDonald of Ontario in the semifinals at the Canadian Mixed Curling Championship in Swift Current. Shaun Meachem of Saskatchewan will take on Paul Flemming of Nova Scotia in the other semi. Team Kurz defeated McDonald 4-3 and lost 11-2 to Meachem on Friday and finished the Championship Pool in second place with a 9-1 record.