The Steinbach Pistons are Turnbull Cup champions for the third time. Dominik Wasik made 24 saves and Ty Paisley and Travis Hensrud scored second period power play goals as Steinbach shutout the Virden Oil Capitals 3-0 Saturday night at the T.G. Smith Centre. Kirk Mullen added an empty netter at 16:52 of the third period for the Pistons who took the Manitoba Junior Hockey League’s best-of-seven final four games to one. Wasik did not allow a goal in the three Steinbach wins on home-ice during the series. The Pistons, who won their first MJHL title in 2013 and their second in 2018, advance to the Centennial Cup National Junior “A” Hockey Championship May 11th-21st in Portage la Prairie. Steinbach will play its round robin opener against the Ontario Junior Hockey League champion Collingwood Blues.

The Winnipeg Ice scored two goals in each period and defeated the Saskatoon Blades 6-2 at Wayne Fleming Arena. Connor McClennon had three goals and an assist for the Ice who lead the Western Hockey League’s best-of-seven Eastern Conference final two games to none. Matthew Savoie, Owen Pederson and Zach Benson also scored for Winnipeg. The series shifts to Saskatoon for games three and four next week Tuesday and Wednesday.

Canada will play for bronze at the 2023 World U18 Hockey Championship in Basel, Switzerland. Sweden scored four unanswered second period goals en route to a 7-2 victory over Canada in the semifinals. Macklin Celebrini and Angus MacDonell did the goal scoring for Team Canada. Carberry’s Carson Bjarnson got the start in net for Canada. The Brandon Wheat Kings goaltender stopped four-of-six shots before leaving the game with an upper-body injury. Canada will meet Slovakia in the bronze medal game while Sweden will take on the United States in the gold medal game. The Americans downed Slovakia 7-1 in the other semifinal.

Canada swept gold at the 2023 World Senior Curling Championships in Gangneung, South Korea. Sherry Anderson of Saskatoon downed Jackie Lockhart of Scotland 8-4 while Howard Rajala of Ottawa beat Graeme Connal of Scotland 7-2. It’s the 10th time in the event’s history, Canada swept the gold medals.