Payton Murray made 18 saves and Sophia Anderson and Brooklyn Franklin scored third period goals as the defending Manitoba Female U18 AAA Hockey League champion Westman Wildcats defeated the Interlake Lightning 2-1 in Stonewall. The Wildcats have won eight in a row and will face the Central Plains Capitals today in Portage.

In the Westman High School Hockey League – Dylan Heritage and Alex Bueche scored two goals each as the Virden Golden Bears beat Minnedosa/Erickson 6-4; Carter Knight, Landon Dmyterko scored third period goals as the Hamiota/Rivers/Elton/Strathclair Huskies rallied for a 3-2 victory over Roblin/Grandview/Gilbert Plains; Tucker Thompson had three goals and two assists as the Swan Valley Tigers downed Sandy Bay 9-2 and Willem Yuel made 40 saves in the Deloraine/Hartney Colts 6-4 victory over Major Pratt.

The Rivers Jets, Virden Oil Kings and Gladstone Lakers were winners in the Tiger Hills Hockey League Saturday night. Joben Smith and Brock Paddock each had a goal and an assist as the Jets beat the Carberry Plainsmen 5-1; Drake Bodie scored the go-ahead goal nine minutes into the third period as the Oil Kings shaded the Minnedosa Bombers 4-3 and Jesse Toth and Jacy Kennedy had three goals each as the Lakers downed the Pilot Mound Pilots 11-4.

The Brandon Wheat Kings gave up four unanswered second period goals and fell 4-3 to the Moose Jaw Warriors at Westoba Place. Dawson Pasternak, Nolan Flamand and Zakhar Polshakov scored for the Wheat Kings. Connor McClennon had a hat trick and Zack Ostapchuk added a pair of goals as the Winnipeg Ice bounced the Medicine Hat Tigers 8-3.

Canada will face host Sweden in the gold medal game at the 2023 World Women’s U18 Hockey Championship in Ostersund. Alex Law scored twice including the winner 5:32 into overtime to lift Canada past Finland 3-2. Abby Stonehouse also scored for the Canadians while Hannah Clark made 24 saves. Sweden shaded the United States 2-1 in the other semifinal.

Tyler Boland had a goal and an assist as the Manitoba Moose wrapped up their six-game road trip with a 4-2 victory over the Belleville Senators. Ville Heinola, Jeff Malott and Dominic Toninato also scored for the Moose.

Kerri Einarson will meet Satsuki Fujisawa in the women’s final at the Grand Slam of Curling’s Canadian Open in Camrose. Einarson stole four in the seventh end and defeated Isabella Wrana 8-2 in the semifinals. Brendan Bottcher will face Niklas Edin in the men’s final. Abby Ackland, Jennifer Jones and Matt Dunstone all lost in the quarterfinals.