Zoe Hicks of Boissevain is Baseball Manitoba’s Senior Women’s Player of the Year and Mitch Olson of Deloraine is the Senior AA Player of the Year. Hicks hit .455, scored five runs and had two rbi for Team Manitoba at the Nationals. She also represented Canada on the baseball and softball National teams this summer and is currently in Toronto preparing with the Softball National team before they depart for the Pan Am Games in Santiago, Chile. Olson was named the South West Baseball League’s Most Outstanding Player in 2023. He batted .489 with nine home runs and 31 rbi. His three-run homer helped the Oak River Dodgers win gold at the Westerns. Olson was also on Team Manitoba’s roster that captured bronze at the Senior Nationals in Red Deer. Oildome was named Baseball Manitoba’s 2023 Region of the Year at the Association’s Annual Awards Banquet Saturday night in Winnipeg.

Jack Clark had a goal and an assist in the Southwest Cougars 5-3 victory over the Norman Northstars in Souris. Sebastian Stone, Bryan Laing, Kylan Anderson and Nate Robson also scored for the Cougars who received a 19-save performance from Evan Svoboda.

Paige Crossley potted the overtime winner as the Westman Wildcats shaded the Interlake Lightning 4-3 in Teulon. Hallie Franklin, Kelsey Huibers and Callie Hilhorst scored in regulation for the Wildcats.

Team Manitoba will face Alberta in the gold medal game at the 2023 WHL Cup in Red Deer. Jaxon Jacobson of Brandon, Brayden Thompson of Winnipeg and Zach Lansard of Ste. Anne did the goal scoring as Manitoba edged British Columbia 3-2 in the semifinals. Winnipeg’s Peyton Shore stopped 30 of 32 shots he faced.

The Virden Oil Capitals are riding a five-game winning streak. Braeden Lewis, Naton Miller and Roux Bazin scored two goals each as Virden defeated the Winnipeg Freeze 10-2 at Tundra Oil & Gas Place. Layton Veitch, Trevor Hunt, Cole Slobodian and Josh Lehto also found the back of the net for the Caps who scored 20 goals on the weekend. Virden beat the Swan Valley Stampeders 10-1 on Saturday.

Thane Hayward had three goals and three assists in the Virden Golden Bears 15-1 win over the Roblin/Grandview/Gilbert Plains Raiders. Coleton Beaty had an eight-point night with two goals and six assists for the Golden Bears. Cole Mohr had the lone goal for the Raiders.

The MacGregor Wild scored four second period goals en route to a 6-4 victory over the Carberry Plainsmen in the lone Tiger Hills Hockey League game. Jared Hulme had a pair of goals for the Wild while singles went to Kelly Rintoul, Robert Smith, Kyle Isenor and Andrew Bayduza. Trey Dickson scored twice for the Plainsmen and singles went to Keean McLaren and Jaden Johnson.

The Brandon Wheat Kings wrapped up their seven-game road trip Saturday night in Wenatchee. Kenta Isogai scored the only goal of the shootout as the Wild shaded Brandon 4-3. Brett Hyland had a pair of goals in regulation for the Wheat Kings who had two wins, three losses, an overtime loss and a shootout loss on the trip. Andrei Maiavin had the other Brandon goal.

Mark Scheifele scored his fourth goal of the season 3:53 into overtime to lift the Winnipeg Jets past the Oilers 3-2 in Edmonton. Josh Morrissey and Vladislav Namestnikov scored in regulation for the Jets who trailed 2-0 after the first period. Winnipeg’s Connor Hellebuyck made 38 saves.

Kyle Capobianco had two goals and two assists Wyatt Bongiovanni chipped in with three helpers as the Manitoba Moose bounced the Iowa Wild 8-2 at Canada Life Centre. The Moose lead 2-1 after the first period and took control of the game thanks to a four-goal second period.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers won their final regular season home game Saturday night at IG Field. Zach Collaros threw for 125 yards and a touchdown, Dru Brown tossed a pair of td passes and Brady Oliveira rand for 72 yards and two touchdowns as Winnipeg defeated the Edmonton Elks 45-25. Oliveira and receiver Nic Demski made history as the Bombers became the first team to have a Canadian back rush for 1,000 yards and a Canadian receiver catch for 1,000 yards on the same team. Winnipeg will play its regular season finale Friday against the Calgary Stampeders at McMahon Stadium. The Blue Bombers, who finished first in the CFL West for the third year in a row, will host either the Stamps or the B.C. Lions in the Division final on Saturday, November 11th.

Kaitlyn Lawes will meet Jennifer Jones in the women’s final and Brendan Bottcher will face Joel Retornaz in the men’s final at the Hearing Life Tour Challenge in Niagara Falls which is the first Grand Slam curling event of the season. Matt Dunstone lost 8-3 to Ross Whyte and Reid Carruthers fell 7-2 to Brad Gushue in the men’s quarterfinals. Kerri Einarson dropped a 6-4 decision to Kaitlyn Lawes in the women’s semifinals.

Team Canada won bronze at the 2023 World Mixed Curling Championship at Aberdeen, Scotland. Skip Felix Asselin, vice-skip Laurie St-Georges, second Émile Asselin and lead Emily Riley of the Glenmore Curling Club in Montreal defeated Maia Ramsfjell of Norway 4-3 in the bronze medal game. Canada lost 7-4 to Johan Nygren of Sweden earlier in the semifinals.