The Manitoba Junior Hockey League will select an All-Star team that will face-off against the University of Manitoba Bisons in an exhibition game on Wednesday, January 5th at Wayne Fleming Arena at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg. The MJHL All-Star team will consist of the top 2001 and 2002 birth year players currently playing in the league. The head coaches selected for the MJHL-SJHL Showcase which include Paul Dyck (Steinbach Pistons), Tyson Ramsey (Virden Oil Capitals) and Barry Wolff (Swan Valley Stampeders) will be behind the Team MJHL bench. Ken Pearson (Neepawa Titans) will also be involved in a supporting/advisory role. Player rosters will be finalized in advance of Christmas break. 

Winnipeg defenseman Neal Pionk has been suspended for two games for a knee-on-knee hit delivered to Toronto blueliner Rasmus Sandin in the third period of the Jets 6-3 victory over the Maple Leafs on Sunday. Pionk will miss tonights game againsts the Carolina Hurricanes at Canada Life Centre and Thursdays game in Seattle against the Kraken. The Jets have waived Riley Nash. The 32-year-old forward is pointless in 15 games this season with Winnipeg. 

2020 Viterra champion Jason Gunnlaugson and Amber Holland of Kronau won the 2021 DEKALB SuperSpiel Monday night at the Morris Curling Club. Gunnlaugson, Matt Wozniak and Connor Njegovan defeated Karsten Sturmay of Edmonton 5-3 in the men's final. Holland along with third Kim Schneider, second Karlee Korchinski and lead Deb Lozinski downed Kayla McMillan of Vancouver 7-3 in the women's final.

Kim Link has a 2-0 round robin record and Randy Neufeld is 1-1 at the Canadian Senior Curling Championships in Sault Ste. Marie. On Monday Link defeated Stacey Szajewski of Northern Ontario 7-2 and Kim Dolan of Prince Edward Island 8-5. Neufeld lost 6-4 to Terry Odishaw of New Brunswich and beat Glen Hudy of Northwest Territories 8-3.