Connie Laliberte, the 1984 World Champion skip who has guided the CurlManitoba High Performance Program for almost 20 years, is retiring as the association's High Performance Director effective June 30, 2022. Olympic Gold Medalist (2014) and World Champion (2008, 2018) Jill Officer, the career second considered one of the greatest curlers in Canadian and World curling history, will become the CurlManitoba High Performance Program’s next Director.

Canada lost its preliminary round opener 2-0 to Finland at the World U18 Women's Hockey Championship in Madison, Wisconsin. Canadian goaltender Hailey MacLeod of Abbotsford stopped 13 of 15 shots. Team Canada's next game is today against Sweden.

The Winkler Flyers have hired Eric Fehr as the Manitoba Junior Hockey League team's Director of Player Development. The 36-year-old Winkler native played 14 seasons in the NHL and scored 113 goals in 652 games. The 18th overall pick of the Washington Capitals in the 2003 NHL Entry Draft won the Calder Cup with the Hershey Bears, the Stanley Cup with the Pittsburgh Penguins and helped Canada captured the Spengler Cup in Davos, Switzerland in 2019. Fehr played five games this past season with Kazan Ak-Bars of the KHL.

Tristan Peters is the Midwest League's Player of the Month for May. The 22-year-old Winkler native, who was selected in the seventh round of the 2021 Major League Baseball Draft by Milwaukee, batted .319 with the Brewers High-A affiliate Wisconsin Timber Rattlers. Peters had seven doubles, five triples, three homers, drove in fifteen runs, and scored 23 runs in May. He also stole four bases, walked fifteen times, and struck out just thirteen times last month.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers have announced the following transactions - released from the roster were National defensive lineman Alfred Green, National defensive back Simon Chaves, National defensive back Chris Ciguineau, American defensive lineman Kenny Randall, National offensive lineman Ben Koczwara, American offensive lineman Jalen Burks, American offensive lineman Patrick Allen, National defensive lineman Cole Adamson (returning to school), American offensive lineman Dennis Bardwell, American receiver TJ Simmons, American receiver Blake Jackson, American receiver Antonio Nunn, National fullback Antonio Valvano, American defensive back Jermaine Ponder, National running back Kyle Borsa, American receiver Lucky Jackson, National defensive end Rossini Sandjong and National linebacker Eric Mezzalira. Added to the practice roster were American receiver Tavaris Harrison, American kicker Ali Mourtada, American offensive lineman Eric Lofton, National fullback Konner Burtenshaw, American running back Greg McCrae, National defensive back Cedrick Lavigne, American offensive lineman Cameron Durley, National defensive back Patrice Rene, American defensive back Jamal Parker, American defensive back Evan Holm, Global offensive lineman Tomoya Machino and Global defensive back Souleymane Karamoko. Added to the Suspended list were Global punter Tom Hackett, American receiver Carlton Agudosi and American quarterback Joe Mancuso. The defending Grey Cup champion Blue Bombers open the 2022 CFL season on Friday against the Ottawa RedBlacks at IG Field.