The Boissevain Border Kings, who took a one-year leave of absence last season, are back in the Tiger Hills Hockey League. THHL president Rodney White confirmed the Border Kings status for the 2023-24 season after the league's fall meeting wrapped up Monday night in Wawanesa. The Cartwright Clippers have until Sunday to let the league know if they'll ice a team this season. The regular season schedule is expected to start October 20th. 

Defender Ashton Bell of Deloraine and goaltender Kristen Campbell of Brandon were chosen in the Professional Women's Hockey League draft on Monday in Toronto. Bell was selected in the second round by Ottawa and Campbell went to Toronto in round three. Both players attended Hockey Canada’s National Women’s Team September Camp last week in Thorold, Ontario. Two other Manitobans were picked in the draft. Defender Jocelyne Larocque of Ste. Anne was chosen second overall by Toronto and goaltender Corinne Schroeder of Elm Creek went to New York in round six. Minnesota selected forward Taylor Heise with the first overall pick. The 23-year-old Lake City, Minnesota native led the NCAA with 30 goals last season at the University of Minnesota. The PWHL will begin it's 24-game inaugural season in January. 

The Virden Oil Capitals pre-season schedule came to an end Monday night at Tundra Oil & Gas Place. David Bielik, Naton Miller and Trevor Hunt scored first period goals in Virden's 4-2 victory over the Portage Terriers. Joey Bielik had the other Oil Capitals goal. Virden netminder Owen LaRocque made 29 saves. The Oil Capitals will open the 2023-24 Manitoba Junior Hockey League season at home Friday night against the reigning Turnbull Cup champion Steinbach Pistons. 

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers, together with Exchange Income Corporation (EIC) and the Toronto Argonauts announced a partnership to honour Canada’s National Day for Truth and Reconciliation. One thousand members of the Indigenous community will be hosted at the September 29th home game against the Argos. “The Blue Bombers and Argos will wear special orange New Era jerseys for pre-game warmup to recognize Orange Shirt Day,” said Wade Miller, President & CEO of the Winnipeg Football Club. “Our jerseys will be made available for an online auction after the game, with funds raised once again donated to Winnipeg Aboriginal Sport Achievement Centre (WASAC).” WASAC helps to remove barriers for thousands of children annually and is Canada’s largest employer for Indigenous children and youth. The Argos will be auctioning off their orange jerseys to raise funds for ENAGB Youth Agency. The Blue Bombers will also have the star blanket logo that was created for the team in 2021 on their helmets for the game. The anthem will be sung in Cree by Rhonda Head, a multi-award winning Mezzo Soprano from Opaskwayak Cree Nation in Northern Manitoba. Powwow dancers, hoop dancers and drummers hosted by Walking Wolf Singers and Dancers will also lead the team onto the field prior to kickoff on September 29th. 

Curling Canada has announced that Moncton will host the 2024 Canadian Senior Championships from December 2nd-7th.  While it is Moncton’s first time hosting the Canadian Seniors, the city has proven experience hosting premier national and international curling events. Curl Moncton hosted the inaugural Canadian Under-18 Curling Championships in 2017 and the Canadian Junior Curling Championships in 2000. In 2009, Curling Canada’s newly appointed Director of High Performance David Murdoch - who represented Scotland - secured an infamous come-from-behind 10th-end victory against Canada’s Team Kevin Martin at the World Men’s Curling Championship. Moncton was also the host city where Northern Ontario’s Al Hackner executed the eponymous ‘Hackner Double’ at the 1985 Brier en route to winning his second Canadian men’s championship title. The city has also hosted the 1980 World Men’s Curling Championship (won by Canada’s Team Rick Folk), the 1956 Brier (won by Manitoba’s Team Billy Walsh), the 1975 Canadian Women’s Curling Championship (won by Quebec’s Team Lee Tobin) and the 1952 and 1973 Canadian Juniors Men’s Curling Championships (won by Saskatchewan’s Team Gary Thode and Ontario’s Team Mark McDonald, respectively).