Matt Dunstone of Fort Rouge is the number one seed for the 2023 Viterra Provincial Men's Curling Championship that begins one week from today at the Yellowhead Centre in Neepawa. The former Manitoba and Canadian junior champion skip along with B.J. Neufeld, Colton Lott, and Ryan Harnden earned their CTRS #2 ranking, and a 2022-23 CTRS entry into the Viterra Championship, competing in nine events so far this season. They qualified for the playoff round in eight of those events, with a win in Red Deer and three other finalist finishes. They also captured the DEKALB SuperSpiel in Morris. Rounding out the top five seeds are Reid Carruthers of Morris, Ryan Wiebe of Fort Rouge, Corey Chambers of Fort Garry and Braden Calvert of Fort Rouge. 

Four Manitoba teams will be competing at the 2023 Scotties Tournament of Hearts February 17th-26th in Kamloops. Meghan Walter and Kaitlyn Lawes along with Alberta's Casey Scheidegger will fill the three wild-card positions. Walter and Lawes will join Manitoba champion Jennifer Jones and three-time defending Canadian champion Kerri Einarson of Gimli in British Columbia for the 18-team National women's championship. 

Manitoba Junior Hockey League teams won one of the three games Tuesday at the MJHL/SJHL Showcase at the Seven Oaks Sportsplex in Winnipeg. Tresor Wotton of the Waywayseecappo Wolverines stopped all 22 shots he faced and Portage Terriers defenseman Brandon McCartney had three assists as MJHL 20U Black blanked SJHL 20U White 4-0. SJHL 20U Gold defeated MJHL 20U Red 4-1 and SJHL 18U Blue shaded MJHL 18U White 5-4. Virden Oil Capitals forward Nolan Chastko scored with 57 seconds left in regulation for MJHL 18U White. 

Ethan King scored twice and Gavin Pomeroy made 28 saves as the Hamiota/Rivers/Elton/Strathclair Huskies defeated Virden 3-1 in the lone Westman High School Hockey League game. Jaden Browning Lozinski scored for the Golden Bears. 

The Brandon Wheat Kings dropped a 2-1 decision to Saskatoon at Westoba Place. Charlie Wright scored 15 seconds into overtime for the Blades. Rylen Roersma had the lone goal for the Wheat Kings. Brandon's Carson Bjarnason made 31 saves. 

Cole Guttman scored in regulation and potted the shootout winner as the Rockford IceHogs edged Manitoba 3-2. Daniel Torgersson and Ville Heinola did the goal scoring for the Moose.