Centre midfielder Kendra Mansoff of the Assiniboine Community College Cougars and forward Camilo Rodriguez of the Brandon University Bobcats are the Manitoba Colleges Athletic Conference Athletes of the Week. Mansoff had four shots on goal and was dangerous on taking free kicks to create scoring opportunities during the home opener versus BU and then scored on a penalty kick in the 80th minute in the Cougars 2-1 loss to Canadian Mennonite University. Rodriguez had a natural hat trick in the Bobcats 5-1 victory over Assiniboine Community College and then scored all three BU goals in a 3-1 home win Providence University College. Rodriguez now has eight goals in three games in 2022 and has followed up his rookie season when he notched 14 goals in 2021.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers signed three American players to the practice roster; defensive back Raleigh Texada as well as offensive linemen Payton Muljo and Liam Fornadel. Texada comes to Winnipeg after a five-year career at Baylor. After redshirting in 2016, Texada earned more and more playing time over the course of his career, going on to start 32 of 37 as part of Baylor’s secondary. Texada finished his college career with 142 tackles and four interceptions and was named to the Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll four times. Muljo joins the Blue Bombers after a four-year college career at Northern Michigan. Muljo appeared in 19 games at left tackle, helping the Wildcats reach a new single-season rushing record in 2018 and in 2021, was named an All-GLIAC honourable mention. Fornadel comes to Winnipeg after a five-year college career with the James Madison University Dukes. Fornadel was a part of one of the best pass-blocking offensive lines in the nation. To finish out his career at JMU, the offensive lineman was named HERO Sports FCS Second Team All-American, VaSID First Team All-State, and FCS Preseason First Team All-American.

Canada's biggest curling event of the season so far - the 2022 PointsBet Invitational - is set to start today at Willie O'Ree Place in Fredericton. The inaugural event is bringing 32 of curling's best Canadian teams - 16 men's and 16 women's - to Atlantic Canada for an all-or-nothing March Madness-style single-knockout bracket. The 16 teams in each gender comprise the top 12 ranked teams on the revamped World Curling Team Ranking System. There will be no shortage of other high-calibre teams in the mix, including the reigning Canadian men's and women's champions in Team Brad Gushue and Team Kerri Einarson. Jennifer Jones heads up a new lineup with 2020 Canadian and world junior champions Karlee Burgess, Mackenzie Zacharias, Emily Zacharias and Lauren Lenentine. Jones's old vice Kaitlyn Lawes is now heading up a new team backed back Selena Njegovan at vice, Jocelyn Peterman at second and Kristin MacCuish at lead. All 32 competing teams will receive $5,000 to cover travel and accommodation costs. Teams will earn more money for each successive win in the single-knockout tournament — $3,000 for a Sweep 16 win, $6,000 for an Elite Eight win, $12,000 for a Final Four win and $24,000 for the victorious women's and men's teams, meaning the two winning teams will each collect a total of $50,000. There are eight Manitoba teams in New Brunswick. Kerri Einarson will meet Tracey Larocque of Thunder Bay; Jennifer Jones will take on Andrea Kelly of Frederiction; Chelsea Carey will face Selena Sturmay of Edmonton; Kaitlyn Lawes will meet Emily Deschenes of Halifax; Matt Dunstone will take on Greg Smith of St. John's, Mike McEwen will face John Epping of Toronto and Reid Carruthers will meet Braden Calvert.