The Manitoba government has approved 89 projects that mitigate against future disasters under the 2022 Mitigation and Preparedness Program (MPP).

Transportation and Infrastructure Minister Doyle Piwniuk announced the funding on Tuesday.

“Our government is committed to supporting not only the post-disaster recovery needs of municipalities, but also their capacity to prepare for future events,” said Piwniuk. “This innovative initiative, delivered through the Manitoba Emergency Measures Organization, offers an important opportunity for municipalities to build local resiliency against natural disasters, extreme weather events and the impacts of climate change.”

First introduced in 2020, the MPP opens when a disaster financial assistance (DFA) program is established for a natural disaster and the cost of the DFA program is sufficient to be eligible for federal cost-sharing arrangements.

The majority of municipalities with a claim under the 2022 Spring Flood DFA program also applied for MPP project funding, which enables municipalities to invest municipal DFA deductibles into an approved mitigation or preparedness project. Up to a maximum of $2.6 million in municipal DFA deductibles will now be used by municipalities to undertake these 89 local projects.

The MPP provides municipalities with flexibility to use deductibles for a project of their choice that builds local resiliency to natural disasters including the purchase of equipment or use of funds for a capital project. Municipalities also have the option to place funds in reserve until a project is selected.

“We commend the Manitoba government for investing in 89 municipal projects under the 2022 MPP. We also commend municipalities for participating in this important program and investing in projects to help our communities become more resilient,” said Kam Blight, president, Association of Manitoba Municipalities.

Common projects include raising roads, enhancing culvert design, and purchasing generators, water pumps, and culvert steamers.


The following is a list of municipalities and their project funding:


Municipality of Clanwilliam-Erickson: up to a maximum of $8,566.58 to expand drainage capacity by installing additional culverts in rural areas;

Rural Municipality of Cornwallis: up to a maximum of $38,668.12 to study high-water levels on Lake Clementi to provide options for long-term solutions;

Town of Minnedosa: up to a maximum of $23,202.57 for a flood mitigation study;

Town of Neepawa: up to a maximum of $48,123.53 for the replacement and relocation of public infrastructure subject to flooding;

Rural Municipality of Louise: up to a maximum of $17,141.63 for a drainage study near Pilot Mound;

Rural Municipality of Souris-Glenwood: up to a maximum of $21,560.36 for a reserve fund for future improvements of drainage systems;

Rural Municipality of Argyle: up to a maximum of $8,414.21 for a reserve fund;

Municipality of Norfolk Treherne: up to a maximum of $14,983.05 for the Alberni flood prevention project;

Municipality of Glenboro-South Cypress: up to a maximum of $9,506.20 for an alarm system for the lift station and lagoon;

Municipality of Glenella-Lansdowne: up to a maximum of $9,590.85 for a reserve fund;

Municipality of Deloraine-Winchester: up to a maximum of $12,511.27 for a reserve fund;

Municipality of Oakland-Wawanesa: up to a maximum of $14,881.47 for a reserve fund;

Municipality of Cartwright-Roblin: up to a maximum of $11,309.24 for a reserve fund