The Manitoba Junior Hockey League's best-of-seven final for the Turnbull Cup begins tonight in Niverville as the defending champion Steinbach Pistons face the Winkler Flyers. The Pistons beat the Flyers in the opening round of the playoffs last year in a series that went the distance. Steinbach swept the Niverville Nighthawks in four straight in round one of the playoffs and then needed a 2-0 victory over OCN in game seven Wednesday night at the HyLife Centre in La Broquerie to eliminate the Blizzard in the semifinals. Winkler eliminated the Portage Terriers in five games in round one and then knocked off the Virden Oil Capitals four games to two in the semifinals. Jakob Jones scored the series clinching goal 51 seconds into the fourth overtime period in game six as Winkler shaded Virden 2-1. The Pistons won the MJHL championship in 2013, 2018 & 2023. This is the Flyers first trip to the final in 22 years. Winkler won the league title in 1991, 1992 & 1998.

The Winnipeg Jets are heading into the Stanley Cup playoffs riding a season-high eight-game winning streak. Nikita Chibrikov scored the go-ahead goal 5:18 into the third period in his NHL debut as Winnipeg defeated the Vancouver Canucks 4-2 Thursday night at Canada Life Centre. Cole Perfetti had a pair of goals for the Jets including an empty netter with 2:05 remaining in regulation. Gabriel Vilardi potted his 22nd of the season at 11:26 of the opening period. Winnipeg will host the Colorado Avalanche Sunday (6 p.m.) in game one of their best-of-seven Western Conference quarterfinal.

Kristin O'Neill scored twice including the game winner with 46 seconds remaining as Montreal shaded Minnesota 4-3. Marie-Philip Poulin and Laura Stacey each had a goal and two assists, while Erin Ambrose chipped in with four assists as Montreal moved within one point of Minnesota for second place in the PWHL. Emily Brown scored her first career goal as Boston edged Toronto 2-1. Boston is in fifth place with 25 points, two behind Ottawa for the fourth and final playoff spot. Renata Fast scored for first-place Toronto, which entered as the league's best road team with six wins and 16 points in nine games. Toronto needs just one point to clinch a playoff spot.

For the first time, the Winnipeg Football Club has unveiled a Community Impact Report showcasing the remarkable work and positive impact the team has made within the community over the course of the previous year. In 2023, the Club actively participated in or hosted over 200 community events, exemplifying its commitment to community engagement. Through the charitable ticket program, the Club partnered with more than 40 organizations, donating over 600 tickets to individuals who may not have had the opportunity to attend a Blue Bombers game otherwise. The report delves into the Club's commitment to support and grow amateur football in Manitoba while recognizing the power of sport to inspire, educate, and unite people of all ages. It highlights the Club's dedication to various community initiatives not only in Winnipeg but also in surrounding areas, making football accessible to as many youth as possible.

Sport Manitoba's annual Night of Champions was held Thursday at the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame in downtown Winnipeg. Greg Dzioba (Winnipeg) from Table Tennis was recognized as the Official of the Year. Resby Coutts (Winnipeg) from Curling was honored as the Volunteer of the Year. Canadian Novice Men’s Champion David Howes (Winnipeg) from Figure Skating is the Athlete of the Year. Canadian curling champions and World bronze medalists Kerri Einarson, Val Sweeting, Shannon Birchard and Briane Harris are the Team of the Year. The Coach of the Year is Gabrielle Wishart (Portage la Prairie) from Volleyball.