Rylan Bray scored twice and Ian Foster, Riley Davie and Cohen Kulbacki each had a goal and two assists as the Neepawa Tigers defeated the Major Pratt Trojans 7-2 Thursday afternoon at the Yellowhead Centre in the lone Westman High School Hockey League game. Hayden Delaloye and Callan Denbow also scored for the Tigers. Otello Derkach and Kane Reagh replied for the Trojans. 

The NHL All-Star weekend got underway Thursday at Toronto's Scotiabank Arena. Winnipeg goaltender Connor Hellebuyck was selected by Connor McDavid and Jets forward Kyle Connor was chosen by Quinn Hughes in the All-Star Player Draft. Savannah Harmon had a hat trick and two assists in leading Team King past Team Kloss 5-3 in the Professional Women's Hockey League 3-on-3 showcase. Ella Shelton and Kendall Coyne Schofield also scored for Team King. Alex Carpenter, Brianne Jenner and Ste. Anne's Jocelyne Larocque did the goal scoring for Team Kloss. The teams were named after PWHL advisory board members Billie Jean King and Ilana Kloss.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers have agreed to terms on new contracts for Canadian defensive backs Nick and Noah Hallett. The two brothers were scheduled to become free agents on February 13th. Nick has signed a two-year deal while Noah is on board for one more season. Nick Hallett led the Blue Bombers with 20 special teams tackles in 2023, which ranked third in the CFL. Noah Hallett missed all of last season as he recuperated from a knee injury.

The Winnipeg Goldeyes signed catcher Rob Emery for the 2024 season. Emery was a college teammate of Goldeyes starter Landen Bourassa at the University of San Francisco. Signed as a free agent by the San Francisco Giants in 2021, Emery was called up to Class-AAA Tacoma on two occasions in 2022 and 2023. The 27-year-old native of San Francisco played the bulk of last season with the Richmond Flying Squirrels of the Class-AA Eastern League and the Class-A Advanced Eugene Emeralds of the Northwest League. The Goldeyes now have 10 players under contract for the 2024 season. American Association clubs may carry up to 30 players during spring training, which begins May 1st.