The Wawanesa Jets and Virden Oil Kings were winners in the Tiger Hills Hockey League Thursday night. Zeanan Ziemer had two goals and three assists as Wawanesa defeated Pilot Mound 8-3. Jacob Dolomont and Mike Reykdal also had two goals each for the Jets. Max Van De Velde had a pair of goals for the Pilots. Devon LeBlanc had four goals and two helpers as Virden downed Neepawa 9-3. Tanner Lewis chipped in with a goal and three helpers for the Oil Kings. Corbin Mariash, Kyle McDonald and Byran Tudoruk replied for the Farmers.

The Winnipeg Ice had acquired goaltender Mason Beaupit and an eighth round pick in the 2023 WHL Prospects Draft from the Spokane Chiefs in exchange for goaltender Dawson Cowan, a fourth round pick in the 2025 Draft as well as a third round pick and a sixth round picj in the 2026 Draft. The 19-year-old Surrey native, who was a fourth round pick of the San Jose Sharks in the 2022 NHL Draft, was Spokane’s Most Valuable Player last season.

Six individuals and three teams will be inducted into the Manitoba Softball Hall of Fame in 2023. Added to the Hall will be Adrian Brown and Ralph Nespor in the All Round Category; Brandi Chammartin, Harvey Julseth and Deb Sonnenberg in the Athlete Category; Phyllis & Larry Klimpke in the Builder Category and the 1980-1985 Legion 2 Blues Fastball club, the 1994-1999 Moose’s Mob SloPitch Team and the 1985-1990 Sioux Valley Dakota’s Fastball team. The 20th Induction Banquet will be held May 6th in Winnipeg.

CurlManitoba’s Senior Men’s Berth Bonspiel is on this weekend at the Morden Curling Club.

Corey Chambers, third Lisa McLeod, second Nigel Milnes and lead Jolene Callum of the Miami Curling Club have a 3-5 record in the seeding pool at the 2022 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship in Prince Albert.