Reid Carruthers of the Granite will take on Riley Smith of Charleswood and Ryan Wiebe of Fort Rouge will meet clubmate Braden Calvert in playoff round “A” side qualifying games on the 9 a.m. draw at the 2024 Viterra Provincial Men’s Curling Championship in Stonewall. The winners will play in the 1-1 page playoff game tonight at 6 p.m. CurlManitoba announced on Friday that Portage la Prairie will host the 2025 Viterra Championship.

Shaela Hayward, Keira Krahn, India Young and Rylie Cox of the Carman Curling Club will play for gold at the 2024 Canadian U18 Curling Championship in Ottawa. Team Hayward defeated Rebecca Regan of Nova Scotia 4-2 Friday night and will face Jolianne Fortin of Quebec at 3:30 p.m. in the gold medal game. Rylan Campbell, Logan Zacharias, Nick Senff and Rylan Graham of the Altona Curling Club defeated Riley Winters of Northern Ontario 8-5 and will face Owen Nicholls of Ontario in the Consolation B final.

Virden’s Joelle Barkley and Joshua Baker failed to qualify for the playoffs at the Provincial High School Curling Championships at the Heather Curling Club in Winnipeg. Baker had a 2-1 round robin record and lost out on a tie-breaker. Barkley was 1-2. Dawson Strange & Emerson Urquhart of Killarney have a 1-3 record at the Provincial Mixed Doubles championship at the Pembina Curling Club.

The Boissevain Border Kings, MacGregor Wild and Minnedosa Bombers were winners in the Tiger Hills Hockey League on Friday night. Tyler Dittmer scored twice as the Border Kings downed the Carberry Plainsmen 6-2. Braden Klippenstein scored twice as the Wild beat the Deloraine Royals 6-1 and Patrick Kondratiew scored twice in the Minnedosa Bombers 5-1 victory over the Neepawa Farmers.

In the Westman High School Hockey League – Carter Dittmer scored his 45th and 46th goals of the season as the Vincent Massey Vikings downed Birtle/Shoal Lake/Rossburn 6-3. Glenboro/Carberry/Baldur beat Crocus Plains 3-1. Sawyer Wiebe made 23 saves in net for the Wildcats. Major Pratt doubled up on Roblin/Grandview/Gilbert Plains 6-3. Josh Edwards had a hat trick from the Trojans.

The Westman Wildcats lost 2-1 in a shootout to the defending Manitoba Female U18 AAA Hockey League champion Winnipeg Ice. Marlie Rutherford scored the lone goal for the Wildcats.

The Virden Oil Capitals scored five power play goals en route to a 7-1 victory over the Niverville Nighthawks at Tundra Oil & Gas Place. Trevor Hunt, Josh Lehto and Evan Groening had two goals each for the Caps.

Rylen Roersma scored twice in the Brandon Wheat Kings 4-1 victory over the Lethbridge Hurricanes at Westoba Place. Jayden Wiens and Roger McQueen also found the back of the net for the Wheat Kings.

The Manitoba Moose lost 4-3 in a shootout to the Grand Rapids Griffins. Kristian Reichel, Nikita Chibrikov and Dawson Barteaux scored for the Moose who trailed 3-0 early in the third period.

Emerance Maschmeyer made 27 saves as Canada’s National women’s hockey team blanked the United States 3-0 in Regina. Natalie Spooner, Emily Clark and Sarah Nurse did the goal scoring for Team Canada who evened the Rivalry Series at 3-3. The deciding seventh game goes Sunday in St. Paul, Minnesota.