Souris boys will meet Immanuel Christian and Souris girls will take on William Morton of Gladstone in the finals of the Provincial A/AA Junior Varsity Basketball championships in Winnipeg. Souris boys downed Morris 61-39 while Souris girls beat Glenboro/Baldur 32-26 in the semifinals. Neelin will face Morden in the third place game at the AAA JV girls championship in Neepawa. The Spartans lost 52-24 to John Taylor in the semifinals.

The Neepawa Tigers were eliminated from the Provincial AAAA High School Hockey Championship in Winnipeg after losing both round robin games on Friday. The Tigers fell 6-2 to St. Paul’s and 3-2 to the Vincent Massey Trojans.

Ty Tosh scored twice and Rayn Sprott had a goal and three assists as the Boissevain/Souris/Deloraine/Waskada Broncos defeated Reston/Elkhorn/Melita/Hartney 5-2 in the deciding third game of their Westman High School Hockey League consolation quarterfinal.

Tyler Dodgson and Noel Englot scored two goals each and Nolan Chastko potted his 30th of the season as the Virden Oil Capitals downed the Winnipeg Freeze 5-2.

The defending champion Miniota/Elkhorn C-Hawks five second period goals en route to an 8-4 victory over the Virden Oil Kings in game one of the THHL’s best-of-five West Division final. Taylor Sanheim had a hat trick for the C-Hawks. Stacy Lowes added a pair of goals while singles went to Shawn Bowles, Drayton Shriner and Brad Bowles. Ty Lewis, Jeremy Johnson, Devon LeBlanc and Colin Cook replied for the Oil Kings.

The Brandon Wheat Kings five-game losing streak came to an end Friday night in Lethbridge. Jayden Wiens and Brett Hyland each had a goal and an assist and Carson Bjarnason made 23 saves as the Wheat Kings blanked the Hurricanes 4-0.

Laurent Brossoit made 17 saves as Winnipeg shutout Seattle 3-0. Mark Scheifele, Adam Lowry and Nikolaj Ehlers did the goal scoring for the Jets who acquired forward Tyler Toffoli from New Jersey in exchange for Winnipeg’s third-round selection in the 2024 NHL Draft and second-round selection in the 2025 Draft. The Jets also picked up defenseman Colin Miller from New Jersey in exchange for Winnipeg’s fourth-round selection in the 2026 NHL Draft.

Three Manitobans will play for Canada’s National Women’s Hockey team at the 2024 World Championship next month in Utica, New York. Defenders Jocelyne Larocque of Ste. Anne & Ashton Bell of Deloraine along with goaltender Kristen Campbell of Brandon were named to Team Canada’s 23-player roster. The 10-team tournament, which begins April 3rd, features Canada in Group A with Czechia, Finland, Switzerland and the host United States. Team Canada will play its preliminary round opener against Finland on April 4th.

Defending champion Brad Gushue will face Brendan Bottcher of Alberta in the 1-2 Page playoff game and Matt Dunstone will meet Mike McEwen of Saskatchewan in the 3-4 Page playoff game at the Brier in Regina. Dunstone defeated Reid Carruthers 6-2 in Friday night's 3-4 qualifier.