Six provincial high school varsity volleyball champions were crowned Saturday. The Deloraine Colts defeated Hamiota 14-25, 25-23, 15-11 in the “A” girls championship game in Gretna. Brooklyn Claeys and Millie Wilkinson of the Colts were named tournament All-Stars and Natalie Maguire was chosen the MVP. The Treherne Tigers beat Wawanesa 19-25, 25-19, 15-13 in the “A” boys final in Elm Creek. The Landmark 96’ers boys and Major Pratt Trojans girls captured the Provincial “AA” championships in The Pas. The 96ers defeated Gabrielle Roy Les Roy 25-23, 19-25, 15-9 while the Trojans beat the Hapnot Kopper Queens 25-19, 25-18. Boissevain boys lost to Rosenort in the quarterfinals. Souris girls lost to Gabrielle Roy in the quarterfinals. The Westgate Wings beat College Beliveau 25-14, 25-15 in the “AAA” girls championship game in Neepawa. The Linden Christian Wings defeated Transcona 18-25, 25-16, 18-16 in the “AAA” boys final in Steinbach.

The Birtle/Shoal Lake/Rossburn Falcons and Sandy Bay Badgers were winners in the Westman High School Hockey. Colby Asselstine scored twice as the Falcons downed Minnedosa/Erickson 6-1. Nathan Pollichuk had the lone goal for the Chancellors. Connor Braun and Chase Houle scored two goals each as the Badgers beat Boissevain/Souris 6-4. Kai Bennett, Parker Maxwell, Connor Miller and Ty Tosh replied for the Broncos.

Nate Robson scored 4:25 into overtime to lift the Southwest Cougars past the Parkland Rangers 4-3 at the Shamrock Centre in Killarney. Nicholas Cullen, Sebastian Stone and Luke MacKenzie also scored for the Cougars who received a 22-save performance from Evan Svoboda.

In the Tiger Hills Hockey League – Dakota Scheirlinck had two goals and an assist as the Hartney Blues beat the Melita Bisons 5-2; Justin Kelbert scored twice and Owen Anderson had three assists as the Pilot Mound Pilots downed the Souris 6-2; Matt Saler had a goal and two asssists in the Minnedosa Bombers 3-2 victory over the Wawanesa Jets; Devon LeBlanc had five goals and three assists as the Virden Oil Kings downed the Cartwright Clippers 14-7 and the Rivers Jets doubled up on the MacGregor Wild 6-3.

Carson Bjarnason made 38 saves and Brett Hyland and Nolan Ritchie scored two goals each as the Brandon Wheat Kings defeated the Swift Current Broncos 4-2 at Westoba Place. Conor Geekie scored his second goal of the game on the power play with 2:27 left in the third period and that proved to be the winner as the Winnipeg Ice downed the Prince Albert Raiders 6-4. Matthew Savoie scored twice for the Ice while Ty Nash chipped in with three assists.

Greg Meireles scored the go-ahead goal with 2:38 remaining in regulation as the Manitoba Moose shaded the Milwaukee Admirals 3-2. Nicholas Jones and Wyatt Bongiovanni also scored for the Moose who outshot the Admirals 31-21.

Matt Dunstone of Winnipeg, John Shuster of Duluth, Clancy Grandy of Vancouver and Nancy Martin of Saskatoon won “A” event qualifiers Saturday at the DEKALB Superspiel in Morris.