The Virden Oil Kings and Minnedosa Bombers were winners in the Tiger Hills Hockey League Saturday night. Brennan Williams and Riley Shamray scored shorthanded goal as Virden downed Hartney 5-2. Cam Whyte, Eric Lemoine and Drake Bodie also scored for the Oil Kings. Jesse Linner and Mike McFadded replied for the Blues. Shane Jury had two goals and an assist and Devon Fordyce made 29 saves as the Bombers beat Gladstone 5-1. Kelly Stinson, Brad Lewis and Tyler Jury also scored for Minnedosa. Jesse Paradis had the lone goal for the Lakers.


The Swan Valley Tigers scored four first period goals en route to a 7-2 victory over Crocus Plains in the lone Westman High School Hockey League game. Kyle Graham had a pair of goals and Nick Baskier had a goal and three assists for the Tigers.


Regan Anderson had the lone goal for the Southwest Cougars who dropped a 3-1 decision to the Winnipeg Thrashers at the Gateway Arena. Thrashers netminder Connor Stewart made 41 saves. Southwest goaltender Kai Bennett faced 34 shots. The Cougars have lost six in row and have scored only nine goals during the losing streak.


Haralds Egle scored with less than a second left in regulation to lift the Manitoba Moose past the Texas Stars 5-4. Portage la Prairie’s Dean Stewart made his American Hockey League debut on the Moose blueline.