Five Zone 9 teams qualified for next months Provincial High School Varsity Volleyball Championships. The Wawanesa Warriors finished second at their qualifier in Shoal Lake and earned a berth at the Provincial “A” boys championship in Elm Creek. The Deloraine Colts won their qualifier at their home gym and advance to the “A” girls championship in Gretna. The Boissevain Broncos finished second at their boys qualifier in Ile des Chenes. The Souris Sabres were second at their girls qualifier in Winnipeg while the Virden Bears finished second at their girls qualifier in Russell. The Broncos, Sabres and Bears will compete at the Provincial “AA” championships at Margaret Barbour Collegiate in The Pas.

The Killarney Shamrocks, Virden Oil Kings, Carberry Plainsmen and Gladstone Lakers were winner in the Tiger Hills Hockey League Saturday night. Brian Archibald made 35 saves as the Shamrocks edged the Minnedosa Bombers 3-2; Tanner Hepp scored 81 seconds into overtime to lift the Oil Kings past the Melita Bisons 7-6; Daylon Creasy scored 69 seconds into OT as the Plainsmen shaded the Pilot Mound Pilots 5-4 and Riley Bruce had two goals and four assists in the Lakers 10-3 victory over the Cartwright Clippers.

In the Westman High School Hockey League – Kyle O’Connor scored four times and Myles Ganske made 30 saves as the Killarney/Wawanesa Raiders blanked Birtle/Shoal Lake Rossburn 7-0. Nairn Cooper scored in overtime to lift Reston/Elkhorn/Melita/Pierson past Swan Valley 2-1.

Dawson Andries scored his fourth goal of the game with 43 seconds remaining in overtime as the Southwest Cougars defeated the defending Manitoba U18 AAA Hockey League champion Winnipeg Wild 4-3.

The Virden Oil Capitals gave up six power play goals and lost 7-0 to the Neepawa Titans at the Yellowhead Centre. Hayden Stocks had a goal and three helpers for the Titans.

The Brandon Wheat Kings and Winnipeg Ice were both winners Saturday night. Nate Danielson scored the go-ahead goal at 11:29 of the third period and added the insurance marker into an empty net as Brandon wrapped up its five-game road trip with a 4-2 victory over the Red Deer Rebels. Brett Hyland and Nolan Ritchie also scored for the Wheat Kings who received a 40-save performance from Nicholas Jones. Zach Benson had two goals and two assists as Winnipeg downed the Regina Pats 5-2. Conor Geekie, Ty Nash and Connor McClennon had the other Ice goals.

The Winnipeg Jets were shutout 3-0 by the Pittsburgh Penguins at Canada Life Centre. Tristan Jarry made 32 saves and Jason Zucker scored the eventual game winner 53 seconds into the third period for the Penguins who handed the Jets just their second loss of the season on home ice.

Isaac Johnson scored the shootout winner in his Moose debut as Manitoba edged the Texas Stars 4-3. Greg Meireles, Wyatt Bongiovanni and Alex Limoges had first period goals for the Moose.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers face the Toronto Argonauts in the 109th Grey Cup today in Regina. The Bombers depth chart features no changes from last Sundays West Division final against the B.C. Lions. The Blue Bombers and Argonauts have met in the Grey Cup seven times, all between 1937-50. Toronto has won all seven games between the two teams.

Manitoba champions Judy Colwell and Murray Warren will play on the final draw of the Canadian Masters Curling Championship at the Pembina Curling Club in Winnipeg. Colwell will face Penny Shantz of B.C. in the gold medal game and Warren will take on Wes Craig of B.C. in the bronze medal game.