The Neelin Spartans are Provincial AAA Junior Varsity girls volleyball champions. Neelin defeated Altona’s Miller Aces 19-25, 25-11, 15-7 in the final. Spartans setter Dana Linov was named the tournament MVP. Neelin’s Elli Pomehichuk and Layla Desjardin were All-Stars.

The Vincent Massey Vikings will face the Steinbach Regional Secondary School in the final of the Provincial AAAA Junior Varsity girls volleyball championship Monday at Investors Group Athletic Centre on the campus of the University of Manitoba in south Winnipeg. The Vikings swept the Sturgeon Heights Huskies 25-18, 25-17, 26-24 in the semifinals Saturday night at Dakota Collegiate.

In the Westman High School Hockey League – Josh Romanik had three goals and four helpers as the Vincent Massey Vikings downed the Birtle/Shoal Lake/Rossburn 9-1. Scott Tibbett made 30 saves as the Swan Valley Tigers doubled up on the Virden Golden Bears 4-2. Landon Nadeau had two goals and two assists as Crocus Plains beat Roblin/Grandview/Gilbert Plains 6-2.

Regan Anderson scored twice and Bryan Laing potted the go-ahead goal with 5:05 left in the third period as the Southwest Cougars shaded the Winnipeg Bruins 5-4 in Souris. Sebastian Stone and Tyson Draper also scored for the Cougars.

There were five games in the Tiger Hills Hockey League Saturday night. Brock Paddock and Billy Klymchuk scored two goals each as the Rivers Jets downed Boissevain 5-1. Tanner Clyne had the lone goal for the Border Kings. Jordan Robertson had a goal and three helpers in the Killarney Shamrocks 9-3 victory over the Pilot Mound Pilots. Declan Vanmackelbergh scored twice as the Deloraine Royals beat the Carberry Plainsmen 6-2. Shane Jury scored twice and Jason Argue made 25 saves as the Minnedosa Bombers blanked the Melita Bisons 2-0. Tyler Bertholet had three assists as the Hartney Blues beat the Wawanesa Jets 5-2.

The Brandon Wheat Kings dropped a 6-1 decision to Medicine Hat. Andrew Basha had four goals and an assist for the hometown Tigers. Nate Danielson had the lone goal for the Wheat Kings who wrap up their four-game road trip Sunday against the Prince Albert Raiders.

Dan Sherrard of Alberta and Abby Burgess of New Brunswick won the Canadian Curling Club Championship at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg. Sherrard defeated Mitch Citron of Saskatchewan 7-2 in the men’s gold medal game. Burgess outscored Lindsay Thorne of Ontario 8-7 in the women’s gold medal game. It’s the third National championship for Sherrard who also won in 2012 & 2013.