The Boissevain Broncos are Provincial High School Fastpitch champions. The Broncos defeated the Neelin Spartans 4-1 in the final Saturday in Brandon. Boissevain advanced to the championship game by downing the Pilot Mound Pilots 4-2 in the semifinals.

The Garden City Fighting Gophers defeated the Stonewall Rams 4-1 in the final of the Provincial High School Baseball Championship in Brandon. Boissevain/Wawanesa lost 3-2 to the Fighting Gophers in the semifinals.

The class of 2020 was inducted into the Manitoba Baseball Hall of Fame Saturday night in Morden. Ron Arnst, Les Charles, Blaine Fortin, Andrew Halpenny, John Kroeker, Morris Mott and Kalam Paull were added to the Hall. The 1994-95 Carman Goldeyes Midget teams and the Goldeyes 1997-2000 Junior teams were also inducted along with the Elmwood Giants Junior teams from 2002-2007. The 1971-75 Cardale Cougars Bantam, Midget & Bisons teams and the 1991 Portage Athletics Midget team. Jack Callum was posthumously named an Honourary Life Member. The 24th induction banquet was delayed for two years because of COVID.

Raul Navarro had three hits and Logan Hill drove in four runs as the Winnipeg Goldeyes downed the Lincoln Saltdogs 10-3 at Shaw Park.

The Virden Oil Capitals selected eight players in the 2022 Manitoba Junior Hockey League Draft. The Oil Capitals took defenseman Cole Slobodian of Brandon eighth overall in round one. Virden also selected forwards Luke Mackenzie of Pipestone and Jeremiah Warkentine of Linden in round two; forward Jaxson Fillion of Winnipeg in round three; defenseman Rhylan Baxter of Winnipeg in round four; goaltender Ethan Simcoe of Lac du Bonnet & forward Campbell Epp of Winnipeg in round six and forward Parker Rolston of Winnipeg in round eight.

11 Southwest Cougars were chosen in the 2022 Manitoba Junior Hockey League Draft. Forward Nate Robson of Carberry went to the Neepawa Titans 13th overall in round one; defenseman Darren Hunt of Hartney (Swan Valley Stampeders) & forward Luke Mackenzie of Pipestone (Virden Oil Capitals) were selected in round two; forward Regan Anderson of Souris (Niverville Nighthawks); defensemen Ryder Heaphy of Killarney (Waywayseecappo Wolverines) & forward Kelby Diehl of Glenboro (Niverville Nighthawks) went in round three; defenseman Drew Shiels of Killarney (Swan Valley Stampeders) was selected in round four; goaltender Kai Bennett of Souris (Portage Terriers) & defenseman Jesse Brown of Wawanesa (Neepawa Titans) were chosen in round six and defensemen Josh Fluker of Boissevain (Dauphin Kings) was selected in round seven and forward Jackson Hofer of Deloraine (Dauphin Kings) went in round eight.

Ryden Hargreaves of Shilo will meet Marco Trstenjak of Elmhurst in the semifinals of Golf Manitoba’s Provincial Men’s Match Play Championship at Quarry Oaks near Steinbach. Hargreaves defeated Mark Di Ubaldo of Breezy Bend on the 20th hole while Trstenjak beat Evan Nachtigall of Wheat City on the 21st hole in the quarterfinals. Cala Korman of Killarney beat Veronica van der Meer of Winnipeg on the 19th hole in the round of 16 in the Women's Division. Korman then lost 6 & 5 to Addison Kartusch of St. Charles in the quarterfinals.