The Steinbach Pistons season came to an end Tuesday night at Stride Place in Portage. Kian Bell scored the go-ahead goal with 3:01 left in the third period and Steven Kesslering added an empty netter with 1:16 remaining as the Battlefords North Stars defeated Steinbach 3-1. Noah Szabo had the lone goal for the Manitoba Junior Hockey League champions who finished the Centennial Cup's preliminary round with one win, two regulation losses and an overtime loss. The Pistons finished fourth in Group B with four points. The Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League champion North Stars have nine points. The preliminary round ends today. The host Portage Terriers face the Ontario Junior Hockey League champion Collingwood Blues tonight. The Blues have eight points, and the Terriers have six. The top three teams in each group advance to the playoffs. The first place teams earn a bye to the semifinals. The Brooks Bandits took top spot in Group A. The Alberta Junior Hockey League champions were the only team to record four regulation wins in the preliminary round.

Jeremy Hanzel, Winnipeg Jets prospect Brad Lambert and Jared Davidson scored during a 45-second span late in the first period as the hometown Seattle Thunderbirds downed the Winnipeg Ice 6-3 and now lead the Western Hockey League's best-of-seven final two games to one. The T-Birds lead 4-1 and 6-2 at the period breaks. Carson Latimer, Zach Benson and Zack Ostapchuk did the goal scoring for the Ice who outshot the Thunderbirds 38-33. Game four goes tonight in Seattle. 

The Winnipeg Goldeyes beat the defending American Association champion Fargo-Moorhead Redhawks 11-3 and snapped their three-game losing streak. The Fish plated three runs in the top of the first inning and put the game away with seven more in the ninth. Dayson Croes and Jacob Bockelie drove in three runs each for Winnipeg. The Goldeyes wrap up their season opening six-game road trip tonight against the Redhawks at Newman Outdoor Field.

The 19th Manitoba Golf Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place tonight at the Niakwa Country Club in Winnipeg. Heading into the Hall are the late Donna Brownridge who helped Elmhurst capture six Provincial Ladies Interclub championships and seven Nassau League titles, Pine Ridge superintendent Derrick Chlopecki, former Rossmere head professional Gerald Morrissey, and the 1991 Manitoba Junior Girls Interprovincial championship team of Raina Best, Brionie Brown, Angela Daykin and Christine Power. 

It's day four of Winnipeg Blue Bombers main camp. Today's practice session at IG Field is from 8:30 a.m. - 11:50 a.m. The Blue Bombers added wide receiver Sean Coyne and defensive tackle Keenan Agnew to the roster. The football club released defensive tackle Julius Turner, defensive lineman Jadrian Taylor, linebacker Christian Dixon, defensive backs Deuce Wallace, Gee Stanley & Charles-Antoine Beaulieu, punter Devin Anctil, offensive lineman Brandon Sanford, receiver Timothy Knuettel and quarterback Billy Hall. Receiver/returner Janarion Grant was transferred to the suspended list.